What’s in a Name? Novel Titles

Today, I was inspired by an article that suggested using the incognito feature. So, I did and found 3 other writers producing works with the same title.

The Zodiac Chronicles.

Thankfully, it’s not the title that’s copyrighted, it’s the work within that is. And each one of us is writing something different. One is a story about vampires, another is about angels vs. demons. With the 3rd one, I don’t know what his book is about I just know that he had asked one of the others about theirs and that his book was titled The Zodiac Chronicles: Cancer.

Those who know my might be thinking “Oh no, she’s hitting the panic button.” This will show you how much I’ve changed. I’m not panicking or throwing any kind of drama-queen spat. Truthfully, I am curious about what others are doing under this title. This isn’t because of competition, it’s because I’m curious and interested in what they’ve come up with.

Okay, so what am I getting at with this? Is this proof of the ‘collective consciousness’? Is this proof that there are no more original ideas?

I don’t know but I have my suspicions on that collective consciousness thing. Seriously, what I do know is that there is a multitude of works out there published, produced, etc, that use the same titles. There have been a few times where someone has asked or commented about their concerns of someone ‘stealing’ their ideas, book titles, etc.

I know this feeling. I’ve lived under this threat for a decade or so. I guess what I’m getting at with my ramblings is that these things happen. We can choose to get upset, or name our works, or respond in some negative way.

The thing to remember is that – while people may remember the title, it’s what’s inside the covers that counts.

One prime example is the title Heartland. First there is the series / collection of novels by Lauren Brooke. This is the series that the show is based on- of the same name. if you visit IMDB.com and type in this title; you will get a list of the various shows- past, present, and future with this title.

So, I guess my point is this: if you’re concerned because someone else is using ‘your’ title- as they say in NY, ‘forgetaboutit’. It’s what you put between the covers that counts.

Leave a Reply

