Goals to Date

Well, we’re encroaching on the middle of the year. This is when I like to pause and take a look back and see where I’ve been and what I’ve done in the year. Today I’m going to go back further and account for the accomplishments I’ve had over the years.

The biggest one is that I quit smoking! I made this decision when I had moved into my current apartment on 11-01-04. The draw back is that while food tasted like it should, I regained the weight back that I had lost since leaving Colorado – and then some.

Another big one is the debt project. I started this in 2007. I have budgeted $2,000 per year to do this. Admittedly I wasn’t smart about it when I first started. I stumbled, faltered, and struggled. Of course it didn’t help that some of the collectors were out right bullies in their tactics to collect. I don’t know how I made it through without the Grace of God. My sanity remains intact thanks to Him.

I have long forgotten what the total was in the beginning. It seems to have floated around $20,000 the entire time- despite the records showing that debts were getting paid off. I blame the interest, it is an evil creature. :: wink ::

To date, I have paid off close to $27,000. While this includes my credit cards, it does not include the student loans. Like I said, interest is an evil creature. One loan is under $1,500 and the other is well over $12,000. Despite my payments of $105 a month- the so called ‘low interest’ of 6 to 7% is making a marginal dent if at all. The small loan may see a credit of $20, sometimes more each month. It’s the large loan that often balances if not cancels that effort. This is the price to be paid for such a small payment- so they tell me. The sad part is that I’m on the income-based payment scale. Things will change though and soon. Once the final credit card is paid off I’ll move this money over to the loans.

There’s a lesson to be learned in this, be smart with your money. I did save money by attending a community college vs. a traditional 4 year school. However, I wasn’t smart with what money I had and it caught up to me. Believe me when I say “I’ve paid for it.”

In looking ahead, 2015 will see an end to my credit cards. It is my hope that I will be able to move forward with plans that have been set to the back burner during these last few years. There are many things I would like to do and accomplish, things that I need to and have to do. For the time being they have simmered, ever on the edge of my thoughts.

These are more than wishes, plans and dreams. I am reluctant to say more as there are those who criticize and object to even the simplest of objectives. This is something I resolved with myself that I will never understand about people- friends who make ‘well meaning / intended comments’ and yet their words only serve to discourage and deter.

Which brings me to my final accomplishment for this post. I have finally relieved myself of the last of these naysayer friends. If you find that a friend is more negative, or that you feel angry / frustrated at them more times than not- perhaps this friend is a naysayer. These people are best left to fade into obscurity rather than kept around.

Leave a Reply

