Update: LRWG #9

I managed to get a few more words written on this assignment. It’s up to 695 which leaves only 2,305 to go. This might have something to do with the door slamming neighbors having moved out. Add in that the cold weather has kept the kids indoors. So, it’s been fairly peaceful around me.

What I don’t understand is why this story is taking so long to write. Even with the chaos that’s been around me, it’s been over a year since I finished lesson 8. The most frustrating part with the story is that it comes in bits and pieces- a few words here, a few there. Unlike other stories, the imagination ( the vision ) is there but lethargic. I’ve tried to find inspiration, borrowing characters from my YA series and such but it’s still a slug.

I haven’t contacted the school because I know what they’ll do- reset my deadline for 30 days from the day I call. This wouldn’t do any good considering the sluggish nature of the progress.

Maybe it’s me, maybe I need to get out more, there’s a lot of things on this list of maybes.

Anyway, I’ve reached another transition point in the story. I’ve stopped at the point where Jen offered a deal to her reluctant friend trying to entice her.

The next moment is on campus. I see them discovering their friends at the seminar- much to Debbie’s surprise. She asks her boyfriend. “I thought you were going to State, what happened?”

“I’m thinking about taking the core classes here then transferring.”

“You can do that?” Debbie asked.

“Oh yeah, and it’s half the cost.”

I’m playing Debbie off not as someone who’s not informed. It’ll be a learning process for her.

Leave a Reply

